Alaska <br>  Speech-Language-Hearing <br>         Association

Welcome to Alaska Speech-Language-Hearing Association 

Connecting the Alaskan Communication Community

Upcoming events

Stay tuned for more information about the 2023 AKSHA Convention!

AKSHA's Vision: A state that values the ability to effectively communicate through access to high quality speech-language and hearing services for all Alaskans.

AKSHA's Mission: Empowering our members through innovative professional development, advocacy, leadership, and networking to pursue excellence in services for the benefit of individuals experiencing speech-language-hearing disorders and all Alaskans.

For information, please contact E-Board President, Andrea Toth via email at


P.O. Box 111993

Anchorage, Alaska 99511


AKSHA is operated by volunteers from the membership. More than 170 AKSHA members reside across the state. The AKSHA Executive Board (E-Board) consists of 4 officers, 2 ASHA Advisory Councilors and 8 Committee Chairs. Below is a list of the current E-Board and subcommittee members.

OFFICERS – Elected by AKSHA membership

1. President: Andrea Toth, (2021-2022)

2. President Elect/Past President (alternating years): Shea Kohman, President Elect (2023)

3. Secretary: Open

4. Treasurer: Chelsea File (2023-2024)

ASHA Committee of Ambassadors – Appointed by ASHA

1. Kim Ward-Massey, SLP (2022-2023)

2. Audiology - Open

COMMITTEE CHAIRS – Appointed by AKSHA E-board

1. Advocacy Chair: Amy Hogue

2. Communications Chair: Maya Dunham

3. Continuing Education (CE): Teresa Moore

4. Membership Chair: Valerie Schmitz

5. Nominations/Awards/Scholarships (NAS) Chair: Rhonda Neill

6. Special Interests (SI) Audiology co-Chair: OPEN

7. Special Interests (SI) SLP co-Chair: OPEN


Advocacy-STAR: Nancy Lovering

Advocacy-STAMP: Anne Ver Hoef

Advocacy-SEAL: Monica Glen email:

CE-ASHA CEU Administrator for AKSHA: Monica Glen

Continuing Education Committee:

Teresa Moore, Patty Welling, Nichole Chilson, Anne Ver Hoef, Laura Young-Campbell, Darlene Batchelder, Monica Glen

Communications-VOICE Editor: Kathie Morgan

SI-Ethics & Regulations: Laura Young-Campbell

SI-Healthcare: Chelsea File

SI-Private Practice: Anne Ver Hoef

SI-Public Schools: Laura Young-Campbell, Karen Stafford

SI-Rural Networking: Open

SI-SLPAs: Lynn Devlin

SI-SLP & AUD Students: Karen Gallagher, Cameron Young

SI-Grad Student Council: Carol Mitchel

Committees and subcommittees need and welcome new members. Contact Nominations/Awards/Scholarship Committee Chair at for more information!

© Alaska Speech-Language-Hearing Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software